When adding elements to a course, you may notice the option to make the element active. When items are active, they are visible to all users, including students and parents. However, when items are inactive, they are only visible to the teacher and administrator. Inactive elements will be italicized in the resources tab or planner.
Additionally, a time span can be set up for the activation and deactivation of an element. The options include now, never, and at a specific time.
Activation may also be set at the folder level or using the planner. This is a great option for ‘hiding’ content from students until it is time to teach the content.